I Wish I Could

I wish I could tell you
How much do I
Care for you
And like you and
Like your smile
And the smiles that you
Put on my face.

I wish I could tell you
Since the day I left
I haven’t slept
I haven’t cried
I haven’t laughed in a while
Though I roam around
Always with a smile.

I wish I could tell you
About the letters
In my drawer
Stamped, unsent
Like yellow leaves on a tree
Which refuse to
Fall.

I wish I could tell you
That I love you
Again and again
Just like I always did
Notwithstanding the hour
Nor the flight of time
Forgetting everything around me.

I wish I could tell you
You were my light
The force of my life
And now that you’re gone
I feel dull
And deprived of everything
My breaths, my life
My very reason of existence.

I wish I could tell you again,
Everything I ever said to you.

8 responses to “I Wish I Could

  1. The finshing lines of this are outstanding. I was moved throughout the poem, but as I read those last two lines, my eyes became moist. How I wish I could say again, so many things.
    Thank you for this lovely heartwarming poem.

Say Something About This Post

