The Solitary Reaper

Of my will,
Good and ill,
Of my life,
Moving, standstill.
I am the solitary reaper.

Of my bodily actions,
Worthy and futile interactions,
A love that has me scarred,
And a love that is in traction.
I am the solitary reaper.

Of the behaviour I extend,
To the foe and the friend,
And the journeys I make,
Which never seem to come to end.
I am the solitary reaper.

Of the books and their wisdom,
As hard as they are to come,
Reading and listening to the words quietly,
And nodding my head with an approving hum.
I am the solitary reaper.

Of me,
Of life,
The Solitary Reaper,
I am.

19 responses to “The Solitary Reaper

  1. I like your choice of the reaper. It is a powerful image to use, yet very apt. We are indeed responsibile for the actions and consequences in our life. Your reflections remind me of the saying “you reap what you sow.” A really great poem and food for thought.

Say Something About This Post

